Redwood City DUI Driver’s License Suspension Lawyer
Have You Had Your License Suspended in the Bay Area?
If you are over 21 and you were arrested for DUI and you agreed to a breath test resulting in a BAC of 0.08 or greater, the CHP or any local law enforcement in the surrounding Bay Area counties may confiscate your driver’s license. You will be issued a “Notice of Suspension.” This document is a formal notice that your California driver’s license is suspended.
A license suspension may last up to four months depending on the outcome of your case. The suspension may even be reduced. This will depend on the specifics of your DUI charges and the experience of the attorney defending your DUI charges.
Refusing Blood & Urine Tests
Refusing either the blood or urine test on your first offense will result in an administrative license suspension of one year with no possibility of work restriction. If this was your second offense within 10 years and you refused these tests, the suspension will be 2 years without the possibility of work restriction.
About Notices of Suspension
Make sure you contact a qualified attorney, experienced in DMV administrative hearings. Contact with the DMV within 10 days of being issued a Notice of Suspension imperative if you want to save your driver’s license. The Administrative Per Se Suspension hearing is completely separate from your criminal case and must be treated as such.
If you are an out-of-state, non-California license holder, the California Highway Patrol or local law enforcement is not required to seize your license. If you receive the Notice of Suspension, it only restricts your driving privileges in California. There is the possibility that your home state will revoke your license once they receive data from California relating to your DUI charges.
Contact an Established Bay Area DUI Lawyer
Regardless if you are from out-of-state or local to the San Francisco Bay area, it is important to retain high-quality legal representation – someone who makes DUI defense cases a core area of their law practice.
Attorney Shelley D. Dwyer does not believe that it should cost you anything to find out what your rights are. She always offers her clients a free initial consultation, either in person or via telephone, so that everyone can have the opportunity to talk to an experienced and caring DUI/criminal defense attorney.
If you have been arrested for DUI anywhere in the San Francisco Bay Area or the San Mateo Peninsula, including Bay Area or anywhere in the state of California, please contact the Law Office of Shelley D. Dwyer online or at (650) 419-2940 and schedule an appointment as soon as possible.