Faced with Criminal Charges? We Are Ready to Protect Your Constitutional Rights.

About Multiple DUI in the Bay Area

With Our Redwood City DUI Lawyer

A drunk driving conviction can have a profound effect on your life. If you have been charged with drunk driving for the first time — or if you have previously been convicted of drunk driving and are currently facing DUI charges for the second, third, or fourth time, you should consult an experienced Bay Area DUI attorney as soon as possible. The Law Offices of Shelley D. Dwyer represents clients throughout the San Francisco Bay Area seeking help after a second or subsequent DUI arrest.

Call (650) 419-2940 or contact a Bay Area DUI attorney for your free initial consultation.

Multiple DUI Defense in California

If you have been convicted of drunk driving within the past 10 years in California and now are being charged for the second, third, or subsequent time, you face increased penalties.

The offenses and their penalties may include:

  • Second DUI in 10 years — License suspension, fines of up to $2,800, up to one year in jail
  • Third DUI in 10 years — License suspension, fines of up to $2,800, up to one year in jail
  • Fourth DUI in 10 years — License suspension, up to three years in jail. A fourth DUI is a felony in California.

Additionally, you may be required to install an ignition interlock device in your car. Our law firm understands the implications of a second or subsequent DUI conviction. The penalties severely increase. Your personal and professional lives may be affected. In multiple DUI cases, it is even more important to consult an experienced attorney to learn about protecting your legal rights.

Attorney Shelley Dwyer has more than 25 years of experience standing up for the rights of those charged with drunk driving in California. You can count on her to take a creative, out-of-the-box approach to your defense case.

Getting Your License Back After a Second DUI Conviction

License suspension is perhaps the most burdensome consequence of a drunk driving condition. In the past, an individual who was convicted of DUI for the second time within 10 years would face a mandatory one-year license suspension. However, today, an option exists that would allow an individual to regain restricted driving privileges if certain requirements are met. If successful, an individual may be able to drive again after 90 days.

There are four things that must be done in order for an individual to be eligible to apply for a restricted driver’s license after a second DUI.

These four requirements are:

  • Install an ignition interlock device (IID)
  • Sign up for SR-22 insurance
  • Complete an 18-month drinking and driving program
  • Pay a reissuing fee

Our law firm can help you determine if you meet the requirements to apply for a restricted driver’s license.

Contact a Bay Area DUI Attorney

If you have been charged with DUI for the second, third, or fourth time, attorney Dwyer is ready to plan an effective defense strategy on your behalf. Contact her law firm today at (650) 419-2940 to schedule a free initial consultation.

When Your Freedom Is On the Line,

Contact the Law Offices of Shelley D. Dwyer.
  1. Attorney Dwyer has over 25 years of experience in criminal defense.
  2. We provide vigorous and aggressive defense.
  3. We have handled more than 150 jury trials.
  4. We offer initial consultations free of charge.
Request Your Free Initial Consultation
  • Please enter your name.
  • This isn't a valid email address.
    Please enter your email address.
  • This isn't a valid phone number.
    Please enter your phone number.
    You entered an invalid number.
  • Please select an option.
  • Please enter a message.